Map of the world

A map of the world front cover

A map of the world front cover

I was reading a new post on one of my blogroll blogs – grain edit, about a new book called A Map of the World: The World According to Illustrators and Storytellers By Antonis Antoniou, R. Klanten, S. Ehmann, H. Hellige / Published by Gestalten
224 pages / 9.6″x13″ .  

I love illustrated maps which bring countries to life and travel books in general, so this book really appeals to me.  It’s described as a collection of work by designers, illustrators, and mapmakers and showcases different regions from around the world and I just might have to get it.

At some point I would like to explore this type of map illustration, using landmarks to bring a country to life, perhaps using collage…something I thought about during assignment one, but didn’t progress the idea very far.

A map of the world - inside spread

A map of the world – inside spread

Leave a Reply

